Ooey Gooey Vegan Cinnamon Buns

I don’t think I have ever successfully made any kind of cinnamon buns, so when I found this recipe for vegan sourdough cinnamon buns I was less than confidant in my abilities. Something about sourdough starter culture seems to make everything better (if you know me or follow my instagram you know I’m obsessed with my homemade sourdough bread). These rolls are no exception- they’re fluffy, light, slightly sweet and bursting with ooey gooey cinnamon-sugar goodness in every bite. They also seem to be somewhat fail proof as I did not follow the directions properly (typical) and they still turned out.

 

IMG_2249

 

If you don’t have a sourdough starter you can buy one or see if anyone you know has one they can share with you (our friends gave us some of theirs- the culture’s name is Suzanne and she’s over 13 years old!!!) This recipe needs to rise overnight so you do need to plan ahead if you need them ready at a certain time. I was in no rush with these and they took me closer to 2 days to finish as I didn’t have time to roll and cut them when it was time. So if you need to let yours rise longer you should be all good. Do not be fooled by the word “sourdough”- your cinnamon buns won’t taste sour- only freaking awesome.

 

IMG_2252
Yep I ate that top corner one before I could even take this picture.

 

VEGAN SOURDOUGH CINNAMON BUNS

(Full recipe at the bottom)

 

IMG_2190
Sourdough starter- it’s alive!

 

IMG_2192
1. Mix together all of the dough ingredients except the flour. Slowly add flour until you achieve a dough that is soft but not sticky.

 

IMG_2205
2. Roll dough in buttered bowl. Cover and let rise until doubled.

 

 

IMG_2207
3. Sprinkle your rolling surface with flour and cinnamon.

 

IMG_2209
4. Roll out dough into a 1/4 inch- 1/2 inch rectangle. Spread melted butter on and sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar over the dough evenly.

 

 

IMG_2212
5/6. Roll up the dough and cut into 2 inch rounds. Place in a baking dish (no mine are not pretty but they tasted amazing okay?) and refrigerate overnight.

 

IMG_2244
7/8. Place the baking dish on top of the stove while you preheat the oven to 400C. Bake for 20-30 minutes until golden brown.

 

IMG_2248
9/10.  Make the icing; and once cool ice the cinnamon buns.

 

Ingredients:

Dough:

  • 1 1/2 cup sourdough starter
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbs sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbs melted vegan butter (I use Earth Balance)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Filling:

  • 2 tbs melted vegan butter
  • 2-3 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Icing:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar (you’ll have to play around with the ratios)
  • 1 tbs melted vegan butter
  • 2 tbs almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

 

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, mix together all of the “dough” ingredients except the four. Slowly add in the flour until the dough is soft but no longer sticky (I needed about 2 1/2 cups).
  2. Rub some vegan butter in a bowl and roll the dough around to coat it. Cover and let rise until doubled- about 3 hours. (I put mine in my oven with the light on- don’t turn the oven on!)
  3. Punch down the dough (you don’t have to wail on it- you can just press it down). Sprinkle your cutting board or counter with lots of flour and even cinnamon and roll out the dough to a 1/4 inch- 1/2 inch thick rectangle (obviously it won’t be a perfect rectangle unless you’re a rolling master in which case please show me your ways).
  4. Brush the melted butter from the “filling” ingredients onto the dough (all the way to the edges) and then evenly sprinkle the mixed cinnamon-sugar all over the surface.
  5. Roll the dough either the long way or the wide way (I am not helpful in this area) and pinch the seam together at the end so it doesn’t unroll (I didn’t find this necessary as the dough was pretty cohesive). The ends of the dough will probably be pretty messy but its okay- it’ll all taste great (just hide those ones and eat them as a sacrifice).
  6. Cut the dough into about 2 inch rounds and place them touching into a well greased baking dish. Refrigerate overnight (this is where I waited almost a full 24 hours- they were fine).
  7. When you are ready to bake them, place them on top of the stove while you preheat your oven to 400C to warm them up (I put them back in my oven with the light on for a while before I preheated the oven as well).
  8. Bake for 20-30 minutes until golden brown and firm when you tap them.
  9. Make the icing by combing all the ingredients in a bowl and mixing with a hand mixer. You may need to add more icing sugar or more almond milk to get the consistency you want.
  10. Allow to cool for a bit (I lasted about 5 minutes) then throw on some icing and devour! Make sure you try them fresh out of the oven- next level experience.

 

IMG_2262

 

I really hope you try and love this recipe! Don’t forget to follow me on instagram @lightlovelifeblog and check back here for future posts! Thanks for reading.

Love & Light,

Kiah

Leave a Reply

